The Mississippi Community College Leadership Academy

What is MCCLA?

The Mississippi Community College Leadership Academy was developed in the spring of 2009 to address the projected need for upper-level leaders in the Mississippi community college system. Graduation for the 31 members of the 2017-2018 Mississippi Community College Leadership Academy was held on Thursday, May 10, 2018 at the Hunter Henry Center on the Mississippi State University campus.


The MCCLA is organized around the practical needs for future community college leaders, specific to the Mississippi community college system. Consequently, much of the material presented and discussed in the Leadership Academy are relative to the operation of Mississippi’s community colleges.

Reading List for MCCLA 2018-2019

  • The Heart of a Leader by Ken Blanchard & Sheldon Bowles
  • The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People by Stephen Covey
  • Leadership Tested: A College President’s Story by Howell C. Garner
  • Leadership Provided: A Team Approach to Decision Making by Howell C. Garner
  • Leadership: Lessons Learned by Howell C. Garner
  • The Five Dysfunctions of a Team by Patrick Lencioni
  • Leadership Gold by John C. Maxwell

This year MCCLA celebrated 10 years! The 10th year reunion was held on February 8, 2019 at the Muse Center at Hinds Community College.  Thanks to the MCCLA Alumni Association for their work and planning for this special occasion.

Class 2018-2019 Participants

1. Fran Howard-Noah, CCC
2. Lanika Johnson, CCC
3. Anika Floyd, CLCC
4. Tiffany Perryman, CLCC
5. Laura Howell, DSU
6. Ken Ethridge, ECCC
7. Christa Wilhite, ECCC
8. Ginny Leonard, EMCC
9. Sha’Carla, EMCC
10. Geanell Adams, Hinds CC
11. Renee Cotton, Hinds CC
12. Kathryn Cox, Holmes CC
13. Michelle Burney, Holmes CC
14. Tonya Davis, ICC
15. Emily Tucker, ICC
16. Julie Atwood, JCJC
17. Teresa McDonald, JCJC
18. Mandy Pearson, JCJC
19. Michael Yarbrough, JCJC
20. Lori Smith, MCC
21. Nikitna Barnes, MCCB
22. Brooke Doggett, MCCB
23. Valarie Morgan, MDCC
24. Adrian Wilson, MDCC
25. Gayle Brown, MGCC
26. Jason Ferguson, MGCC
27. Vickie Edmonds, MSU
28. Tyler Holbrook, MSU
29. Eric Moyen, MSU
30. Carson Wilkins, MSU
31. Stephen Williams, MSU
32. Ben Shappley, NEMCC
33. Justin Treloar, NEMCC
34. Darlene Greenlee, NMCC
35. Liesl Mote, NMCC
36. Jaime Missimer, PRCC
37. Michelle Wilson-Stokes, PRCC
38. Amber Kelly, SWCC

Class 2017-2018 Graduates

The class of 2017-2018 of 31 graduated Thursday May 4th, 2017.

1. Adrian Allen, CCC
2. Donald J. (D.J.) Preiss, CLCC
3. Samantha Speeg, CLCC
4. Mark Alexander, EMCC
5. Marion Smoot, EMCC
6. Carley Dear, HCC
7. Dr. Mitchell Shears, HCC
8. Alice Austin, Holmes CC
9. Chris Cox, ICC
10. Mande Miller, ICC
11. Dr. Jessica Bunch, JCJC
12. Luke Hammonds, JCJC
13. Michael (Eric) Williams, JCJC
14. Robert Williams, Jr., LeMoyne-Owen College
15. Lucy Morgan, MCC
16. Dr. Rachel DeVaughan, Mississippi Community College Board
17. Mark Jenkins, Mississippi Community College Board
18. Jenni Hargett, MDCC
19. Teresa Webster, MDCC
20. Dr. Suzi Brown, MGCCC
21. LaShanda Chamberlain, MGCCC
22. Jermaine Jackson, Mississippi State University
23. Hannah Matthews Pierce, Mississippi State University
24. Lauren Porter, Mississippi State University
25. Chelsey Vincent, Mississippi State University
26. Elizabeth (Beth) Benson, NEMCC
27. Emily Pollard, NEMCC
28. Julie Correro, NWMCC
29. Dr. Melissa Wright, NWMCC
30. Dr. Melissa Bryant, PRCC
31. Terri Clark, PRCC

Questions about MCCLA?